RSS

Better Late Than Never: Game Of The Year For 2011

19 Jan

I played many boardgames in 2011, but the one that struck me as what I would nominate as game of the year would be: Kingdom Builder by Queen Games.

There were many things that came to mind when I decided to nominate this as game of the year for 2011.

First, this game has the Euro-Game feel and look and is easy to learn.  That makes it a great Gateway style game for new players that are not familiar with Euro-Style Games.

Second, the replayability in this game is amazing.  You can have many different ways to play and it’s random enough that there would not be any one way of possibly winning (eliminating that one player from dominating game after game).  I think any game that offers even a novice player a great chance of winning deserves a big thumbs up.

Next, the Rules are straight forward and do not require a Rocket Scientist to interpret.  There are a lot of games out on the market that have rules that are poorly written.  This is not one of them.  Kudos to the rule guys on this one.

Last, for the price of the game you have a lot of gameplay in the replayability factor I mentioned above.  After all, would you spend $50.00 on a game that gives you very little replayability?

Even though I mention the price of $50.00 above, you can find this game for a lot less by shopping around online.

I give this game a solid 5 out of 5 Meeple rating!

 

 

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in General

 

One response to “Better Late Than Never: Game Of The Year For 2011

  1. Josh

    January 20, 2012 at 8:44 am

    Ok, so I’ve not really played or seen this game in person. But I keep hearing that it’s awesome. I suppose that I should actually look into it at some point in the near future.

     

Leave a Reply

 
