RSS

Games people play at a “Carnival” celebration!

02 Oct
Games people play at a “Carnival” celebration!

On October 1, 2011 I had the pleasure of joining several of my Board Gaming friends that live in the Raleigh-Durham area for a celebration.  We all gathered to celebrate the countdown to a very successful Kickstarter campaign of Carnival.

Carnival was the idea of Cherilyn Kirkman (Pictured on the Left) as the designer and Chris Kirkman (Pictured on the Right) as the Artist.  Both of them own and run DiceHateMe.com and have recently launched DiceHateMe publishing as well.

Their publishing company will be launching other games in the future and look like they have jumped in with some very good candidates.

One of the games that they will be coming out with in the spring will be VivaJava.by T.C. Petty III (Pictured on the Left).  Let me tell you, this is a game that you will want to back on Kickstarter when they put it up there.  T.C. has come up with some great mechanics for the game, and with the help of Chris Kirkman they have teamed up to have a great layout for this game the will play 3-8 players.

We had the chance to play a full 8 player game on Oct 1 and it plays really well.  There is very little downtime for any player, so you will not have that feeling of sitting there waiting for your turn.  The pictures I took are of the prototype of the game and are not the final product, but even the prototype components worked really well and looks good.  I can not wait for the final product to see the end design.

 

Also, while I was at the celebration, I had the chance to play Elder Sign a couple more times.  The first time we played it during the day, we easily won the game, and I was thinking that the game “might” be broke, since it was so easy to win.

My impression on that quickly changed when we played the second game.We just barely got by winning.  It came down to a couple really lucky dice rolls in the end.

I still want to play this game a few more times before I actually make a firm opinion on it.  I like the concept, and the price point.  I am, however, not convinced 100% yet that if you play 4 or more players in the game that you will ever lose.  I suppose it’s possible, but the three games I played this week did not convince me yet.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 2, 2011 in General

 

One response to “Games people play at a “Carnival” celebration!

  1. Eric & Scott (@GamesAndGrub)

    October 2, 2011 at 1:34 pm

    What did you think of Punchin’ Planes?

     

Leave a Reply

 
