RSS

Games People Play

18 Aug

When I arrived at Hypermind Tuesday evening, Alton and I sat down to a 2 player game of Carcassonne 10th Anniversary Edition.

Alton and I have played this game 3 times before, together.  Each time, I won the game.

Well, this time, Alton was trying some nice tactical moves, but in the end I prevailed.  So, as far as the count goes, I’m undefeated against him.

Better luck next time, Alton!

Next, Sean, Alton, Tom, and Josh joined me in a 5 player game of Ascension: Return Of The Fallen.

This game lasted quite a while, and other players kept stopping by our table to see if we were “done” yet.  One of the reasons it took so long was there were a couple of people who have not played the expansion much, and they were still trying to learn the cards I didn’t mind, however, because I love this game.

I happen to win this game too, but not by much.  It was close all the way around.

After that, we cracked open my newest game that i got called Zombie Fluxx.

This game can take anywhere from 10-40 minutes to play.  We opted to playa couple hands while waiting for Chris Norwood to show up.

The first hand lasted about 5-10 minutes with Josh inadvertently playing a card that game Alton the win.

The second game was going quite a bit longer and I think Alton finally just gave me the win with his play so I could move on to my next came, since Chris Norwood had arrived by then.

Chris had promised me earlier in the week that he would play Carnival as soon as he showed up to game night, and also that he would hold a seat open for me.

This was my first time playing Carnival and I was hooked!

A couple of friends (Chris Kirman and Cherilyn Kirkman) from the Durham, NC area created and produced this game.  I knew they were going to put it on the Kickstarter web site, and I wanted to give it a try before I actually put forth a pledge to back the project.

This game is worth the money and I highly recommend you back it on Kickstarter.  You won’t be sorry.  This is a nice little game, and both Chris and Cherilyn did an awesome job with the concept, and development of the prototype.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 18, 2011 in Hypermind Board Game Night

 

One response to “Games People Play

  1. Chris K.

    August 18, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    We’re glad you enjoyed Carnival, Shawn! And thank you for backing. We really appreciate the support. Hopefully we can have some sort of launch party when the first copies arrive!

     

Leave a Reply

 
