RSS

Games People Play

13 Apr

When I arrived at Hypermind last night, Chris I and Sceadeau were playing Elk Fest, a finger flicking type game.  The object is to get your Elk from your side of the table (on a land tile) to the other side of the table (on the opponents land tile). You do this by using stones to cross an icy river.

On each turn the players get a number of moves to flick their stones as close the front of the elk as possible and make him walk across the stones to the next stone and eventually to the final destination.

If your elk falls in the water, you place it back on the last stones it was standing on and your opponent gets an additional flick of his stones to try to do the same thing.

I have never played any flicking type games yet at Hypermind, so this was my first chance.  I actually did really well, and even surprised Sceadeau and Chris.  My winning Elk got to Chris’ side before Chris could even get one-third of the way to mine.

The next game I played was called Genoa.  I have never heard of this game before, but it seemed like a game I might like to play if I am in the right mood.

During the last couple rounds of the game, I almost gave up trying to even come close to winning.  I did make a few turns earn me some money by taking offers from Chris and Sceadeu to make my moves go in certain directions that would aid them.  By the end of the game, I was surprised to find out that I actually came in second place.  I thought for sure that Chris would have outscored me, just by the way he was playing and the lack of my playing skills on this game.  I think I would like to try this game again sometime in the future, just to see if I can pick up on some tactics I just didn’t quite understand the first go round.

By the end of that game, a few more people had come in and were ready to play some games.  We jumped into a seven player game of 7 Wonders.  I am liking this game more and more each time I play it.  This is one that I think I would like to put on my wish/want list and hope that someone will fulfill that list someday for me.

I think this game plays well with 4-6 and is really random with all 7 players.  The funny thing is while I was thinking that, Sceadeau actually said it out loud.  It kind of freaked me out that I was thinking the same thing as Sceadeau almost at that same moment.

What game night wouldn’t be fun if we had not cracked out Cities? I am really loving this game, and wish more people would play it.

It’s a great filler game and doesn’t use CARDS!  It seems like when we pick filler games, most of the time it involves some kind of card game.  Don’t get me wrong, card games are fun, but it’s always nice to play with some tiles and meeples too!

This game is going to stay in my bag for a long time to come.

And now for the last game of the night for me…Ascesnion: Chonicle of the Godslayer.  I am starting to believe this is like an addicting drug or something to that effect.  i just can’t seem to get enough of this game, and if someone were to ask me what game I would really like to play if I had my choice, this would be it!

I am really excited for the expansion, and can’t wait until it’s released in June 2011.  This is one expansion that I will buy as soon as our game store has it in stock!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2011 in General

 

2 responses to “Games People Play

  1. Chris

    April 13, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I’ve never played Elk Fest before, but it looked pretty cool for the 87 seconds that I watched it.

    I really hate to miss game night, especially when y’all played so many games that I’ve never tried before! But maybe I’ll be able to make it this weekend to see Alton… I can hope, anyway.

     
  2. skirkham

    April 13, 2011 at 11:03 am

    Hope you can make it. Also, yeah..if Sceadeau brings Elk Fest again sometime, I’ll have to see if you and I can get in a quick game of it. It plays really fast, and is another one of those “Flicking” games. 🙂 By the way…it was my first Flicking game I ever played, and I really would like to try Catacombs with you all sometime soon too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
