RSS

Games People Play

23 Mar

Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer

Last night, I started off playing Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer with Matt as a 2 player game.

We decided to play it again and this time another member of the group joined in on the festivities. Game 2 under our belts.

We played hard and really came close to each others scores without very much wiggle room.

Cities

The three of us then jumped into a game of cities.

I am liking this game more and more each time I play it.

It’s short, a great filler instead of a card game, and the different layouts you can think of with your tile pieces just make it a lot of fun.

I’m going to keep bringing this one to boardgame night for a while, and hopefully give some more players an opportunity to play one of those hidden gems of a filler game.

 

 

Tsuro

After the that we headed over to another table to play a game of Tsuro.

Tsuro is played by placing a rock statue (your playing piece) at the edge of the board with a line next to the entrance to the board.  Next thing you are going to do is place a tile down leading from that edge into the gameboard itself.

The object is to use one of the lines on that tile to keep yourself on the gameboard without bumping into another player.  That will result in you following his track back to the edge of the board where your piece finally stops ending the game for you.

The player(s) who either stay on the board last, or if the last two players both die due to a tile being played, they actually TIE for the WIN. (Just to note, James and Myself both won the game because of that situation at the end).

I’m not sure I would play this game a lot, but it would spark my interest every now and then for a short filler type game.  This is also a game that I would not necessarily purchase myself, but wouldn’t mind it as a gift if someone were to give it to me.  I may even change my mind about whether I would play it more if it were a gift.

Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer (More fun!!!)

Once that was complete, I headed back to playing Ascension again with Chris N this time as well as Matt.

Matt finally got his chance to win and boy did he ever.  He scored about 20 more victory points then Chris or myself.  Congratulations Matt!

I also promised Kenny I would get a game of Ascension in with him.  Matt stuck around for that and we played one more time on this night.

I am really liking Ascension, and looking forward to Promo Day number 3 coming up at our local game store on April 9 as well as the release of the Expansion set coming out in June 2011.

Also, stay tuned to the blog, because I will have some more Review/First Impressions coming very soon on a few games I have played and a few games that were sent to me for review.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 23, 2011 in Hypermind Board Game Night

 

Leave a Reply

 
