RSS

Games People Play…

09 Mar

On Tuesday, my night started off by me walking into our local game store and seeing that they finally got several copies of Survive in stock.

I had store credits and had this as one of my games I was going to pick up in the near future.

So I jumped at the chance to get it while it was in stock.

After my purchase, I chatted with a couple of the guys for a few moments and then three of us decided to play Ra.

I could not seem to get what I needed to get a decent score and wound up losing to the 2nd place player by almost 20 points.

I know Sceadeau has some clever ways of playing the game, and for some reason I jump at trying to block him by bidding.  Note to self.  Sometimes it’s better to let Sceadeau have the junk, because better things are yet to come.

After that game, I joined a few others in a game of Pandemic: On The Brink.  This was my first time playing the expansion, and I have to say I like it a lot.

There are a few additional mutations, and roles that come with it.  Also it allows for a 5th player.

Unfortunately we lost because of Outbreaks.

Overall thought we had some good initial strategies going in to the game, but didn’t get the luck of the draw of cards.

Once that game was over I joined Chris N, and Tom in Survive.  We played with Chris’ copy.

We played a couple of the challenge rules where the person with the most meeples to make it to the other islands was the winner as well as we included the Dolphins and the Blue dice.

I have to admit, those two “Challenge” make it a much nicer game.  It was pretty close.  Chris N only had one more move to actually tie me for the number of meeples, but alas pulled the Volcano tile to just barely give me the win.

If he had indeed made it to the island safely, we decided in the beginning that we would use the score on the bottom of the meeples for a tie breaker.  He would have won in that case, but again, his poor meeple burned in the volcanic ashes.

Chris N and Tom and myself then decided to play Win, Lose, or Banana.  Somehow we got Chris N to chose the Lose card several times.

This game, is real quick, and funny at times, especially when you try to convince the Winner card holder that you are the Banana, even if you are holding the LOSE card.

I think the three of us had a few laughs along the way.

Chris N also showed us another game (And I can’t for the life of me remember the name of it), but it involves rolling a die, circling pictures on a player mat, and trying to get all the pictures circled before another player shakes an Egg and tries to steal the pen from you.  This game was also fun, and a few of us even got some “Battle Wounds” from the ink when the pen was stolen from our hands.

Before I left for the night, I played one more game of Ra, because I had promised Adam that I would bring the game and we would play it.

Again, I lost miserably, but I still love the game, and need to try a couple other strategies on my next go round of it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Games People Play…

  1. Chris

    March 9, 2011 at 10:47 am

    The other game you can’t remember is Shake ‘n Take. We actually played it twice more later on with 7 players, and it was absolute, crazy fun!

     
  2. skirkham

    March 9, 2011 at 11:43 am

    Thanks Chris. I could not for the life of remember the name of it this morning. But yeah, I can imagine that with 7 it was probably crazy fun.

     
  3. tomg

    March 12, 2011 at 5:47 pm

    I had a blast playing games with you that night Shawn. Survive swam to the top of the list and Shake N’ Take not far behind.
    I need to get another game of Ra in.

     
  4. skirkham

    March 13, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Thanks Tom! It was good to see too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
