RSS

Games People Play…

04 Mar

This week I was introduced to a game that has been around for a while called Through The Desert. Since this was my first time playing, I was not expecting to win, like many other games.

The object of the game is to initially place a leaders (Camel and Rider) onto spaces that you think may be a good starting point on the board.  Then as each player finally places all the leaders each player in turn thereafter will place two camels of the color of their choosing on the board to connect to those leaders.

Eventually there is strategy to block players from making long chains as well as occupying certain spaces on the board.

You can connect to spaces that have victory points, trees that give extra bonus points and have locked in what I think were called mountain rangers to gain additional points at the end for bonus.

Well, with all that being said, I amazingly won the game my first time out playing!  Regardless of the win, I will play this again anytime I get a chance.  Thanks to my friend Adam for bringing this one to the table.

Some of the other games I played that night were: 

Although the group I played didn’t really like The King Commands, I might try to introduce to some of my family members back home in NY State.  They like card games, and it seems like something that I would have more fun playing then a game of Rummy.  I’m also not sure if I will continue to bring this game or maybe trade it in for something else.  I’ll have to check on the board game geek and see if anyone wants to trade another game for it.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Games People Play…

  1. Chris

    March 4, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    Yeah, I’ve actually noticed that new people tend to win Through the Desert pretty regularly. I didn’t watch y’all play the other night, but what I think happens sometimes is that the new players will do the obvious things, like grabbing up big watering holes and connecting to as many oases as possible. But “experienced” players tend to get distracted too much by walling off areas of the board or blocking other players, and actually then miss chances to score that they would have otherwise had.

     
  2. skirkham

    March 4, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    Yup..that’s pretty much they way it happened. I think they were concentraing more on blocking each other rather than pay attention to what the Newbie was doing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
