RSS

Games People Play…

09 Feb

Last night Chris I, Kenny, and myself started out playing Ascension: Chronicle of the Godslayer at our regular Board Game night over at Hypermind in Burlington, NC.

The game was pretty close for the most part.  Chris I reminded me of some extra points I could score from the combat cards and helped me out by getting me a few of them.  Thanks Chris!

With that being said, I won the game.  So I conclude I must score this one with an asterisk (*) because of the extra help he offered in the game.

The new Pathwarden card did appear, but did not work in anyone’s favor this time, but watch out for the next time.

Next up, Chris I, and myself played a 2 player game of Egizia. The more I play this game, the more I love it, and the more I learn about it.

One of the things I have to get ahold of though would be the bonus victory points that are accumulated at the end by using the Sphinx cards.  Some day, I need to go through the rules again and familiarize myself a little more with what each one of these cards can give at the end of the game and develop some strategies with the hopes that I land a few of those cards in my hand for end score.

Anyway, I had a blast, and will bring this game with me a lot to board game night.  I’m hoping it makes game of the month one of these times.  I’m going to try to convince some folks that it should.

Next, several of us jumped into a game of Factory Fun.  This is our game of the month.  I am liking this game more and more each time I play it.  It’s a tough game though and makes you really think about where you will place things on the board to your best advantage for score.

I’m still working on some ideas.  We’ll see what happens next week.

Sceadeau brought a trick taking game called Wizard with him that we all jumped into and played.

To be honest with you, I didn’t fare well, and really didn’t like the game overall.

If you like trick taking games, this is OK, I suppose.  It just doesn’t tickle my fancy.

Oh well.

After that, we jumped back into Factory Fun since Chris N had showed up and had not played the game yet.

It was good to see David and Michelle too last night.  I haven’t seen them in a while and wanted to let them know that we missed them, and welcome back.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 9, 2011 in Hypermind Board Game Night

 

Leave a Reply

 
