RSS

Games People Play 09/28/2010

01 Oct

This week at game night, I arrived early and met up with Michelle and Sceadeau.  Sceadeau was nice enough to teach Michelle and myself how to play Race For The Galaxy (The Base Game).

This game is awesome.  I had some trouble getting the points that I really wanted, but I think after a few plays I’ll get the hang of what to hang on to and what to discard.  Michelle had some of the same issues.  She and I agreed we would pull this game out again next week and at least play it 2 player if no one else wants to join in.

Next, I joined Alton, Cody, Sceadeau, and Michelle in a game of Container.  This was my first time playing this game.  The object is to get a certain amount of containers to an island using your ship.  Each player has a player mat that allows them to develop factories, shipping facilities, and containers out of goods.  During your turn you can do numerous things such as buying goods, building containers, shipping, etc.  It took me a little while to figure out some things about the game, and about three-quarters of the way through, I got a good grasp on this game.  Sceadeau brought this one to the table, and I asked him to bring it again so we could play it again.  This one might become another one of those games that I enjoy often.

I had just about enough time for one last game.  Chris Ingersoll bought Fresco recently.  I decided to give this one a try.  This also was one I never played before, and had to grasp on to how to play it.  Chip, Michelle, Chris and myself played this and had a blast.  Being a “artisan” type game, Michelle had to tell us about a certain brown color she wanted in some paints.  We offered suggestions, but to no avail.  She had already tried all of them.  Anyway, the game continued.  I was not paying attention and unfortunately didn’t fare well.  I’d love to give this game another go round, because I think I could really enjoy this game, especially if I pay attention to what I am doing.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Hypermind Board Game Night

 

Leave a Reply

 
