RSS

Sword And Skull

22 Sep

Last weekend my local game store had a sidewalk sale.  During the sale I picked up a few items.  My wife needed some 12 sided dice and six-sided dice with numbers instead of pips on them.  I also was perusing the Board Games that were on sale and came across a game called Sword And Skull for the low price of $5.00.  I couldn’t resist it for that price.  I had in the back of my mind that the player pieces, and coins alone were worth the money.  Also, if I didn’t like the game I could either give it away, sell it at a garage sale, or just keep some pieces for other games and trash the rest of the game.

This game plays a little like Monopoly in the sense that you keep going around the board doing different actions, collecting, treasures, etc.  When the time comes in the game to try to win, you enter the inside of the board and try to kill the pirate king or pay him off to get your ships back.

I really like the pieces in this game.  I have included some pictures of them here.  Each player has 1 Pirate (On the left) and 1 Officer (On the right).  You actually determine which player piece you will move on the board unless you roll doubles.  When you roll doubles you actually will move each player that number and resolve the space it lands on (one at a time).

The board is neatly laid out and is easy to understand.

The cards are also easy to understand with the symbols and words that are on each one.

Overall this game is fun to play and I would rate it a 7 out of 10.  I am not sure if it would make it to my game board tables each week, and would have rated it higher if I thought it had that chance like some other games that seem to make it week after week.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2010 in Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
