RSS

Ra

06 Sep

Recently I purchased RA from Hypermind in Burlington, NC.  Even though I have only played this game a couple of times, I absolutely love the game.

Last night I introduced the game to my wife.  She got the hang of it really quick.  It was a close game.  If she had not had to give back some points one time due to not having at least one Civilization tile and also having the least amount of Pharoah’s, she would have won the game.

This game can be played with two players like we had, but I think you actually have more fun with three to five because of the bidding aspect of the game.

VARIANT: I did however come up with a possible variant that I would like to try some time.  My idea was in the two player game (only), whenever RA is invoked or a RA tile is drawn, the first player bids (if they want) and then the second player tries to outbid (if they want), and it goes back and forth like this until one player passes or does not have a SUN to outbid the other player.

For example:

  • There are several tiles
  • Player A has the SUNS 1, 4, 7, 9
  • Player B has the SUNS 2, 3, 5,6
  • Player A bids 1
  • Player B bids 3
  • Player A rebids 4
  • Player B rebids 5
  • Player A rebids 7
  • Player B does not have a higher tile and therefore automatically has to pass and loses the bid to Player A

I think this would make the bidding aspect a little more fun and challenge you to either play or hold onto a higher number SUN for a later round in the Epoch.

Anyway, I would love to hear your thoughts or comments on this variant.

I rate this game a 9 out of 10.  I would have given it a perfect 10 if the 2 player bidding was a little more complicated out of the box, plus the Tile Bag that it comes with is a little small and you may want to make your own.  But overall I think you will have hours and hours of fun with this game.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 6, 2010 in Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
